About this site

This resource is hosted by the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory, but was compiled and authored by Padraig O’Malley. It is the product of almost two decades of research and includes analyses, chronologies, historical documents, and interviews from the apartheid and post-apartheid eras.

ANC Accountability Structures

Ø     National Executive Committee (NEC) most senior structure responsible for establishing overall political framework for all ANC structures to operate (incl. Dept of National Security & Intelligence).

Ø     National Working Committee responsible for day-to-day running of ANC at NEC level.

Ø     Offices of President, Secretary-General and Treasurer-General under NEC/NWC.

Ø     Under President's Office:

     National Security Council

     After 85, Review Board

     After 85, Office of Justice

Ø     National Security Council consisted of:



     Treasurer General

     Head of Security & Intelligence Dept

     Head of Military HQ

     Head of Political HQ

Ø     Under the PMC:

     Sections of Dept of National Security & Intelligence (NAT)

Ø     NAT consisted of:

     Headed by Directorate (appointed by President)

     Directorate made up of heads of various sub-sectors of structure

     Sub-sectors of structure Intelligence, Counter-

     Intelligence, Processing/Central Intelligence Evaluation Sector, Security, VIP Protection.

Ø     Under National PMC:

     Regional PMCs (coordinated work of units inside SA)

     Military Zones ie. Angola, Uganda & all structures pertaining to cadre settlements

Ø     Regional PMCs consisted of:

     Political, military & security personnel

     Security units reported to a regional NAT


Ø     Camp leadership:

     Camp Commander

     Second in command Camp Commissar

     Chiefs of Staff



     Recording Officer (from NAT)/Guards

Ø     At Kabwe in 85, decided to improve accountability of NAT and address abuses which had arisen adopted a Code of Conduct.

Ø     Role of department redefined & structure reconstructed.

Ø     Activities were to be confined to screening & investigation of new recruits; collection of intelligence.

Ø     Reports on people suspected of "unlawful" activities/possible agents had to be handed to Officer of Justice to ensure investigations carried out fairly.

Ø     Code of Conduct:

     Range of regulations govern conduct within ANC

     Three new structures established

Ø      Officer of Justice

Ø      National People's Tribunal

Ø     National Review Committee

Ø     Commission appointed examined problems in Department made recommendations on future leadership. Linked to avoidance of abuse of power due to secrecy and "need to know" basis of information lead to human rights abuses.

This resource is hosted by the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory, but was compiled and authored by Padraig O’Malley. Return to the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory site.